A central exchange forum for Astronomical AO scientists

    AO Tomography Workshop 9-11 July 2012, Leiden, The Netherlands


    Posts : 1
    Points : 3
    Reputation : 0
    Join date : 2010-10-01
    Age : 44
    Location : Leiden, The Netherlands

    AO Tomography Workshop 9-11 July 2012, Leiden, The Netherlands

    Post  rstuik on Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:12 am

    Dear Colleague,

    Following the SPIE conference on Astronomical Instrumentation we hereby would like to invite you for a 2.5 day AO tomography workshop at Leiden Observatory, The Netherlands.

    The workshop will take place from Monday, July 9, until noon, July 11, 2012 at the Old Observatory in Leiden.
    We intend to discussed the following topics at the workshop:

    * Overview of long-term requirements, technical and scientific, new developments and new hardware capabilities.
    * Measurements and laboratory experiments,
    - Sodium layer density/beacon distance variation measurements & compensation of these effects,
    - Atmospheric turbulence parameter characterisation & measurement,
    - Laboratory experiments on AO calibration methods and implementations,
    - Laboratory WFS developments & developments for layer-orientated and MOAO instruments,
    - Knowing the turbulence priors and the requirements for these priors,
    - Reconstruction/Tomography/Modelling,
    - ELT specific issues.
    * Hardware development,
    - Real-time algorithm implementation on hardware,
    - Developments of large-scale deformable mirrors e.g. adaptive secondaries, low-cost MEMs devices for large FoV correction.

    We invite you to submit an abstract for a paper on our registration website: http://www.dur.ac.uk/cfai/adaptiveoptics/aotw12/

    We strongly request that you register before May 15 since space is limited.

    Information regarding registration fee (if any) and local accomodation will follow soon.

    Best regards,

    LOC & SOC

    Francois Rigaut, ANU, Australia
    Brent Ellerbroek, TMT, USA
    Carlos Correia, HIA, Canada
    Norbet Hubin, ESO, Germany
    Richard Myers, CfAI, UK

    Nazim Ali Bharmal, CfAI, UK
    Remko Stuik, Leiden Observatory, The Netherlands

      Current date/time is Mon Jan 21, 2019 12:02 pm